Skip to main content Skip to navigation
School of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science Faculty spotlight

Best Paper

A team of researchers, including Biresh Kumar Joardar, Priyanka Ghosh, Partha Pratim Pande, Ananth Kalyanaraman and Sriram Krishnamoorthy, received a best paper award at the recent IEEE/ACM International Symposium on Networks-on-Chip (NOC’19) for their paper, NoC-enabled Software/Hardware Co-Design Framework for Accelerating k-mer Counting.

(Pictured above, left to right, Partha Pratim Pande, Biresh Kumar Joardar, Ananth Kalyanaraman)

Venkatasubramanian named an IEEE fellow

By Tina Hilding, Voiland College of Engineering & Architecture


PULLMAN, Wash. – Vaithianathan (Mani) Venkatasubramanian, professor in the School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, has been named a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). He was recognized for contributions to online detection of oscillatory behavior of electric power systems. With WSU since 1992, he holds several patents for real-time stability monitoring in power systems using synchronized wide-area measurements. Venkatasubramanian conducts research in the area of power system dynamics with an emphasis on stability and control. This includes monitoring and control of oscillations and voltage collapse in power systems and analysis of complex nonlinear behavior in large power system models. He is a recipient of a National Science Foundation Young Investigator Award. He holds a bachelor’s degree in electrical and electronics engineering from India’s Birla Institute of Technology and Science and M.S. and D.Sc. degrees in systems science and mathematics from Washington University, St. Louis.

Learn more about the IEEE at Learn more about the fellows at