Skip to main content Skip to navigation
School of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science People

Jana Doppa receives NSF CAREER Award

Jana Doppa

Jana Doppa received a prestigious National Science Foundation Early Career Research Award for his work in developing algorithms to support scientists and engineers in their decision-making and experimental design process.

This $550,000 grant will support Doppa’s work to develop general-purpose learning and reasoning algorithms to support engineers and scientists, and to streamline experimental processes. He will collaborate with scientists to apply the algorithms, in particular, in the fields of computer hardware, materials, and synthetic microbiomes, helping the researchers decide on the optimal way to conduct their experiments.

The work builds on his success in developing algorithms for electronic design automation and computer architecture domains.

Read More

Alyssa Dalbeck receives the 2019 EECS Staff Excellence Award

Alyssa Dalbeck Staff Excellence AwardAlyssa Dalbeck has been with EECS for nearly three years. In that time, Alyssa has continually shown initiative and been given more and more responsibilities. Within the last year especially, she has taken on all the purchasing and travel responsibilities after the VCEA business center closed. She very quickly learned all of the processes and became the department expert. She has time and time again proven to be an extremely smart, efficient, and responsible worker who deserves recognition. She is also a pleasant and helpful resource to anyone who enters the main office regardless of their position (staff/faculty/student/parent).

Ali Mehrizi-Sani receives Outstanding Young Engineer Award

Mehrizi-Sani Ali Mehrizi-Sani, assistant professor in WSU’s School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, has received the Power and Energy Society  Outstanding Young Engineer Award from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

Mehrizi-Sani conducts research in renewable energy resources in the power system, microgrid management, and power system applications of power electronics. He has received several National Science Foundation awards, including one for the design of system-agnostic controllers for renewable resources within a microgrid, which are interfaced through power electronics converters, and another one for the development of a software learning tool for his power electronics course.  Read More

Andrew O’Fallon Voted Best Professor at WSU

Andy O'FallonOur own Andrew O’Fallon, voted best professor at WSU, poses a coding question to his computer science class.

Diane Cook receives WSU Sahlin Faculty Excellence Award