Skip to main content Skip to navigation
School of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science Scholarships

Lloyd B. Craine Scholarship

  • Awarded to Electrical Engineering and Computer Engineering students
  • recipient must have at least a 3.2 GPA
  • Awarded according to established selection procedures in the EECS department
About the Donor

Lloyd Craine joined the Engineering Experiment Station at Washington State College in 1955.  As a highly respected researcher, he led in the development of an electrical emotional stress meter and in the investigation of radio “noise” produced by extra high-voltage power lines then under development by the Bonneville Power Administration.  His radio propagation and ionosphere research expanded to include solar physics.

In 1964, Professor Craine served as a director in the Atmospheric Science Group of the National Science Foundation and interim director of Solar Sciences.  Returning to WSU, his research included mountain-associated infrasonic waves and the electrical problems of grounded potentials on dairy farms. In 1974, he was named IEEE Congressional Fellow, which again took him to Washington, D.C., where he served on the House Science and Astronautics Committee.

At WSU, he initiated a laboratory for research on electrical measurements and introduced courses in engineering ethics and the engineering aspects of social sciences.

He retired in 1988, but continued to teach half time until full retirement in 1990.  The Lloyd B. Craine Scholarship was announced in 1989 at his retirement dinner, with support from alumni donors.  Following retirement, he did some private consulting in farm electrification problems and has since retired to his home at Marine Route-Delcardo Bay, Coeur d’Alene, Idaho.

The Craine fund provides scholarships for undergraduates and/or fellowships for graduate students pursuing a degree in electrical and computer engineering.

To Contribute to This Fund

If you would like to make a gift to this scholarship fund, please contact:
Devon Anderson
Senior Director of Development
School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science